NSU Catalog 2014-2015 
    May 26, 2024  
NSU Catalog 2014-2015 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Organization of NSU

Board of Regents

306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200, Pierre, SD 57501
Honorable Terry Baloun Sioux Falls (Minnehaha County)
Honorable Harvey Jewett, IV Aberdeen
Honorable Kathryn Johnson Hill City
Honorable Dean Krogman Brookings
Honorable Randyl Morris Spearfish
Honorable Randy Schaefer Madison
Honorable Joseph Schartz Humboldt
Honorable Kevin Schieffer Sioux Falls (Lincoln County)
Honorable Bob Sutton Pierre
Executive Director Jack R. Warner Pierre


Officers of the Regents

Honorable Dean Krogman President
Honorable Randy Schaefer Vice President
Honorable Bob Sutton Secretary


Officers of Northern State University

James M. Smith President
B.S., Miami University
M.Ed., Xavier University
Ph.D., Miami University
Veronica Paulson Vice President for Finance and Administration
B.S., Northern State University  
Thomas Hawley Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs
B.A., South Dakota State University
M.A., University of Northern Colorado
Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
 Professor of Education
JoEllen Lindner Vice President for Student Affairs/Enrollment Manager
M.A., Gonzaga University
B.A., South Dakota State University
Debbi Bumpous Chief Information Officer
B.S., Northern State University
B.S.Ed., Northern State University
M.S., Northern State University


Academic Administration

Willard Broucek Dean, School of Business
B.S., University of Illinois
M.B.A., York University
Ph.D., University of Bradford
Associate Professor of Management
Ronald Brownie Director of Online and Continuing Education
A.S., Quincy College
B.S., Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
M.S., Chapman University
Constance Geier Dean, School of Education
B.S., Northern State University
M.S. Northern State University
Ed.D., University of South Dakota
Professor of Education
Peggy Hallstrom Registrar
B.S., University of Minnesota
M.A., Hamline University
Alan LaFave Dean, School of Fine Arts
B.M.E., Northern State University
M.M., Arizona State University
D.M.A., Arizona State University
Professor of Music
C.G. Mendez Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
B.A., Benedictine College
M.A., University of Colorado, Boulder
M.B.A., University of Colorado, Boulder
Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder
Sharon Paranto Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
B.S., Northern State University
M.S., Colorado State University
Ed.D., University of South Dakota
Director of Graduate Studies
Steven Rasmussen Director of University College
B.A., Washington State University
M.A., Washington State University
Robert Russell Director of Library
B.S., Minnesota State University, Mankato
M.A., Minnesota State University, Mankato
M.L.I.S., University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
 Associate Professor of Library Science